WWI – 100wc#11

We trudged out onto the muddy battlefield, rifles armed, grenades loaded.

The first attack on us was a grenade, killing none, but injuring one. Our army suddenly started chucking grenades at the enemies’ base. Unfortunately, that was the last thing I could remember, because I was shot. I was injured, hurt, but spirit undefeated.

I had to stay in hospital for ten months until I was ready to fight again. I then started attacking like a hungry lion. Finally, the enemies accepted defeat.

Even after a hundred years, when I see red poppy flowers, I remember the frightening and ruthless WWI.

Prompt: Word – “…remember…” (Veterans Day and WW1 Centenary this week)

3 thoughts on “WWI – 100wc#11

  1. Hello Arnav!
    Well done for sharing a powerful piece of writing. You have used a great description of your determination.

    Like

Leave a comment