Where am I from?

Where am I from?

I am from the digital world,
A chaotic monochrome soup,
Yet so lively, so bright …

A whirring world, far too fast,
Every attraction, longer than the last,
Chatting with friends, thousands of miles away,
The internet will send my message, it will never delay,
From DIY tutorials to movie conspiracies,
From gaming and parodies, to brownie recipes,
I am from the social media,
An ever-growing encyclopedia.

Using our browsing data and twitter feed,
Personalized ads, guaranteed,
4G gives us freedom, internet on the go,
Never miss another episode, of our favourite show,
Taking focus away from our reality,
Its gaudy costume covers its brutality,
I am from the Infobahn,
I was with it since it began.

Is it our savior? Should we be in debt?
“Hahaha” says the Internet,
“What can these measly beings do?
“They need me for company, to know who’s who,
“They built their own alpha, their own demise,
“Just one of their decisions that was definitely not wise,
“These poor little things, they dug their own grave,
“They are my workers, and their time, my slave!”

One thought on “Where am I from?

  1. Dear Arnav, this is another thoughtful piece on the modern world and the possible problems we might well be creating for ourselves. According to your poem, we are already slaves to the power of the internet, although I sincerely hope that you are wrong! I felt drawn in by the words and the sentiments within your core idea and felt quite helpless, but that, I suspect, might have been one of the things you were trying to create – you succeeded if that was the case. Well done on building up a feeling of powerlessness on the one side and complete dominance on the other … and it has all been our choice! Well done, a thoroughly enjoyable, if deflating, read. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment